AARG Committees

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall serve as the governing body over the African-American Resource Group. It shall consists of the following elected positions: Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Parliamentarian. It shall also consists of a Treasurer, who is appointed by the Office of Diversity Affairs.

The 2014-2016 Executive Committee

Chair: Dr. Terry Esper
Associate Professor, Supply Chain Management ~ Walton College of Business

Vice-Chair: Dr. Takama Statton-Brooks
Asst. Director of Residence Education ~ University Housing

Secretary: Dahlia Ashford
Academic Outreach Specialist ~ Diversity Affairs

Parliamentarian: J’onnelle Colbert-Diaz
Assistant Director/Grievance Officer ~ Office of Equal Opportunity & Compliance

Treasurer: Ella Lambey
Executive Assistant to VC for Diversity & Community


Standing Committees shall consist of no fewer than three members.  The following committees shall be appointed by the Chair and shall serve one-year appointments with staggered terms.

The sub-committees are as follows:

Recruitment and Retention
Dr. Charles Robinson, Vice Chancellor for Diversity & Community

  1. Identify opportunities to welcome potential African American staff and faculty to the University;
  2. Identify and address barriers to retention of African American staff and faculty.

Professional Development
Dr. Elecia Smith,  HR & Diversity Manager ~ College of Arts & Sciences 

  1. Identify and develop future training programs and opportunities;
  2. Locate and inform membership of existing professional development opportunities.

Dr. Danielle L. Wood, Director of Equal Opportunity & Compliance 

  1. Coordinate the nomination and election process;
  2. Use various mediums to send information considered to be important to the membership;
  3. Submit information about updates, events, and opportunities.

Special Events

  1. Coordinate social activities of the resource group;
  2. Ensure refreshments are at the meeting when needed;
  3. Work with other sub-committees to assist in the organization of events.